A MEANINGFUL CHRISTMAS


I was recently shopping for my husband for his birthday and began to grow frustrated. I had a specific gift in mind and was searching online for said item. I like using online stores to gather ideas and have a starting point. I also like to use websites to see what kind of availability stores have and then go into the store and see the item and purchase in person. I’ve noticed a growing trend within the past couple of years that stores are carrying less and less on their shelves. I’m a sensory person. I like being able to touch items before I buy them. I also like to look things over to check its quality as well. I’ve also had many negative online shopping experiences, mostly with grocery orders, but those experiences have left me at a point where I have very little faith in online shopping. I know for certain grocery shoppers do not check expiration dates, for rotten produce, or holes in flour bags. Ask me how I know!

Anyway I was struggling to find stores that carried the item I had in mind in stock and in store. It’s kind of annoying to be quite honest. There is so little to see in person these days.

I wondered, am I the only one worried about the trajectory we are on? I am growing tired of not being able to see and touch an item before I buy it, then having to fight to return an item. Are we moving towards a day when online shopping will be our only option? Gone are the days of window shopping, I guess. I worry that’s where we are headed and it makes me sad. And we (the consumers) are partially to blame. Seeking convenience over most other things…and as it turns out what we have gotten isn’t always very convenient…

Im not sure about you, but I enjoy buying gifts for loved ones, however I’ve grown tired of having to default to Amazon. I miss the days when you were able to shop around for those special people. Taking time and care to pick out things you think they’d love. In recent years, in some instances, you’re literally just swapping gift cards. I hate it. It doesn’t feel personal or special to me. For this reason, I’m on a mission this year to make our gift giving more meaningful this Christmas! I was mulling over some gift ideas for family the other day and decided on “favorite things gift baskets” I’m mostly buying for couples so I’m going to combine their items in one basket. I love the idea of gathering small trinkets and items that they love from small local shops. Filling a pretty basket with was cozy winter socks, coffee, tea, sweet snacks, nail polish, travel size perfumes and cologne, mugs, puzzles, card games. Small items that they love, that they will enjoy and actually use. I really want to take the time to make our Christmas gift exchanges and time together feel super personal and heart felt. So that it my goal this year. How do you approach gift giving? For the boys we do

Something they want, something they need, something to wear and something to read.

Are you seeing the same store trends as I am? Does it frustrate you too? Have you started your shopping yet? Tell me all about it!

, ,

2 responses to “A MEANINGFUL CHRISTMAS”

Leave a comment