MAPLE BROWN SUGAR SIMPLE SYRUP


I’m pretty basic. Anytime I visit my local coffee shop I get the same ole’ thing.

Medium hot vanilla latte with whole milk.

Occasionally I’ll branch out and get a sweet cream cold brew in the summertime.

Until recently…

We met up with my parents this past weekend to grab lunch and do some local shopping at the farmers market. Anytime we meet up with my parents, you know there is going to be coffee involved. It so happened to be my birthday and I thought, “I’m 36 now, I should live a little and try something new.” 🤪 I know, I’m a wild one in my old age, haha, but the thrifty-ness in me is always worried I’ll hate it and have just wasted $5.

I saw they were serving a special for the autumn season, Maple Brown Sugar Latte, I decided to give it a go!

Well, let me just say, I’ve been thinking about this latte since then.

If you’re friends with me on Instagram then you’ve likely been following along my latte art journey. Incase you missed it, I invested in a Breville Bambino over the summer. It’s been a fun hobby trying to master latte art. Here is where we started and here’s where we are today.

Anyway I’ve been dreaming about this maple brown sugar latte since the weekend and decided to whip up a simple syrup for myself.

It was so easy and quick, I’m not sure why I haven’t been making my own all along.

I used:

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup.
  • I mixed it with 1 cup filtered water
  • 1 tsp of vanilla.

I simmered everything on the stovetop until the sugar dissolved and poured it into my mason jar to cool. From what I’ve read simple syrup should keep in the refrigerator for 3-4 weeks. Next time I think I may use less water for a stronger syrup (maybe try 3/4 cup instead for a thicker version) or I suppose I could just add 2 tbsp to my espresso instead of 1 tbsp and see how that tastes.

I’ll definitely continue experimenting and let you know. I mixed it with my normal 8oz of 2% milk and it was delicious. Just the perfect hint of sweetness. If you like things sweeter and more flavored I’d try a 2:1 ratio or maybe add more to your cup.

Let me know if you’ve made simple syrup before and how you’ve made yours? How do you like your espresso/coffee?

, , ,

3 responses to “MAPLE BROWN SUGAR SIMPLE SYRUP”

Leave a comment