AT HOME | OUR PAINT COLORS


I get asked quite frequently over on Instagram what paint colors we have used throughout our home. I figured it’s long overdue for me to dedicate a blog post as a reference when those questions come up. So let’s jump right in.

Our bedroom | When we remodeled our bedroom we had four walls of very stuck on antique wallpaper. Removing wallpaper is a very tedious project and I think every room in our home so far that we have tackled minus the sun-room has had wallpaper. Sadly the removal process revealed plaster walls that were not in the greatest of shape. The wall behind our bed had significant cracks and imperfections, and along with the imperfections there was wallpaper + glue that just didn’t want to come off. We were sort of over it. I knew I wanted a focal wall anyway so we decided to go with wide board ship lap. I didn’t just want white ship lap because every one does that. After days and days of flipping through paint chips I decided on a very neutral beige. It’s called Grant Beige and I love it as much today as I did the moment we painted it. The walls are a creamy white called Alabaster. You’ll see it throughout my home.

bedroom before
living room before

I thought it would be fun to share a few snapshots of our home before we updated it. The pictures above was our bedroom and living room before.

Our living room | This room has a beautiful stone fireplace along with a built in book case. Those two things are what I love most about this room…well besides the big windows and all the pretty morning sun that streams in. After we removed all of the wallpaper in here [and that horrible green shag carpet] I really wanted to keep things light and bright. It can be really hard to find a good creamy white, some take on a blueish…pinkish…yellow hue. I had a hard time finding a white that didn’t do any of those things or at least not too drastically. In the end I decided on bright white trim and the color Natural Choice from Sherwin Williams. I know for some this color can read a little yellow so it may not work in all spaces, but I was really glad it worked in ours. It adds just enough interest against the bright white trim.

dining room with the green trim

Dining room | Our dining room also….wait for it…had wallpaper. [haha] I will say, it was the easiest room to remove it. After that we painted and put up the tongue and groove bead-board. This room originally was painted Natural Choice on the top and a light mossy green that I can’t for the life of me remember what it was called. The green just didn’t work for me, especially because our kitchen is blue and I eventually painted over it when we refinished these floors in the beginning of this year [2021] It’s now painted Revere Pewter

Our sunroom | Over the winter in 2021 we tackled our sunroom. Not much changed in here, however there were a lot of cracks in the walls and the ceiling needed to be patched. You would think painting a room would be easy…but when you have vaulted ceilings that means tall ladders and scaffolding. It was quite the project. I sure am glad my husband knows what he is doing. I actually let my husband choose this color because I was at a total loss and I was about to just paint it alabaster like most of our house. He went to Sherwin Williams and came home with this color, Gossamer Veil and while I had to get use to it, I think he made a really good choice. It’s neutral and light but different than what I normally choose.

Boys’ bedroom | Another room and more Alabaster. I told you it is my go to color. This room is Alabaster on the walls and the trim is painted Revere Pewter. I personally love darker painted trim and lighter/white walls.

Basement | I almost went dark down here. I went back and forth with a dark blueish green wall accent color…similar to those lockers pictured above. I also threw around the idea to paint the trim a dark blueish green. In the end I played it safe and went with Alabaster and Revere Pewter. Mostly because it’s a basement. There is little to no natural light. The floors are dark and I just didn’t want it to feel dark down there, especially because it’s where the boys play and we do our school work.

That’s it ya’ll. That sums up all of our paint colors. Thanks so much for stopping by, for supporting this blog and for all your encouragement. I am so thankful for this community!

Blessings,

Bree

, ,

2 responses to “AT HOME | OUR PAINT COLORS”

Leave a comment