Simple Farmhouse Decor DIY

Good morning friends!! Today is an exciting day for me. Several weeks ago my insta-friend and fellow blogger, Lisa over at Farmhouse On Boone asked me to join her in a DIY blog hop. I’m definitely feeling honored to be included with such a talented group of women. So I got to brainstorming some ideas. Of course I could list plenty of DIYs  that I would have liked to have done however, as many of you know we are in the process of “fingers crossed” listing our house for sale and moving into our forever home. So when I started talking DIY my hubby was like…”pump the brakes, if we’re moving I certainly don’t want to waste time and money on a DIY project for this home.” And of course he is completely right. So I had to get back to the drawing board and get a little creative. That brings me to todays post. I have a few very simple DIY projects that you can easily do at home inexpensively.

First up I had this old soda crate. I’ve had it for years and would usually bring it out for parties in the summer to use as a fun beverage tray. I was never too thrilled with the red letters, I just don’t use a lot of red in my home. Then I had a brilliant idea…why not paint over the letters? All I used for this simple project was black chalk paint and a paint brush. Here is it before…

img_1541

 

Here it is after. All I did was paint over all the the red letters with the black paint. It was a little time consuming but well worth it.

7b5b43ee-2bd5-40a2-885b-d329f4e50845

Which brings me to my next very simple DIY. I bought this buffet a while back. It was painted a dingy white color. So I decided I would paint over it and I went with a light gray color. I believe its called Paris Grey, its the inexpensive chalk paint that you can buy at AC Moore. Well I’ve hated it since the day that I painted it. I always felt like it had a weird purply tint to it. So I figured now was a better time than any and I got to work. The nice thing about chalk paint is that prep is very minimal. All I did was go over it with a light sanding and then wiped it all down clean, easy peasy. If you caught my end table makeover. You can read that here. I decided to use the same dark gray color.

ce8a6f10-ac9a-4fbc-981a-dfa5c94b939e

f0ced3bd-4fd8-4fa3-82d8-69d88a7ff930

The buffet itself isn’t in the greatest condition. It was dark and raining when I bought it so I didn’t take the time to carefully inspect it. However, I’m pretty pleased with this little mini makeover. Paint is probably my favorite thing, because you can quickly and inexpensively transform and give new life to a piece. So don’t be so quick to pass by those old worn pieces. With a little love and time I bet you can make it something beautiful.

5153df37-fc02-4c5a-bc99-8fd4dfe385c5

09abf67d-6290-4c85-bc33-dd47d004aba1

32a984a7-a1b0-4ce1-97d1-745e48ff05f7

2d57a39c-c6c1-44d2-8032-6e21fd3cb932

29b695fe-07d0-40bf-9ce8-e16ee4a4ea16

9220daf9-64b2-4b0e-b17b-c20c978deec0

Last but very not least I have a very simple sewing project for you. I’m really loving all the boho accents people are incorporating into their homes right now. I’ve always really liked boho style so I thought it would be fun to add just a couple of little touches to my decor. One way to do that is, of course pillows! Now we all know pillows can be a little pricey that’s why I really prefer using pillow covers and then changing them out when I’m in the mood for something different. Lots of places sell different pillow covers, my favorites are Ikea and H&M but did you know you can also make pillow covers for less than $5 using placemats. As many of you know Target is one of my favorite stores and they just so happen to have a nice selection of cloth placemats. Now the key here is that you want to get the ones that have the lining on the back.

All you’ll need to do is take a seam ripper and carefully pull the seam out. You really only need enough room to squeeze in a pillow or stuffing depending on which way you wanted to do it. Usually I like to use pillow forms but I didn’t have any this time so just decided to use the stuffing that I had on hand. Once you have your seam pulled apart and your pillow stuffed you take a coordinating thread and stitch it right back up. I just follow along with the holes that are already in it from the thread that I originally pulled out.

img_1341

 

xoxo

 

24700c52-222c-498e-99fd-baabcd0c7b88

I’d love to hear what y’all think of these simple DIYs, feel free to leave me some comments below and please make sure to check out all of the other blogs participating in the hop. They are all so talented! You’re sure to be inspired!

The Mountain View Cottage

A Burst Of Beautiful

Delightfully Noted

Tidbits

Boxwood Avenue

A House And A Dog

Seeking Lavender Lane

Little Glass Jar

Farmhouse On Boone

 

7 thoughts on “Simple Farmhouse Decor DIY

  1. Love all of your ideas! I’ve been known to use a black sharpie to update something, just like you did with your crate! Haha! I really like your pillow; placemats are a great idea. Have you found a good size pillow form that fits nice within your placemats?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

